Creating Space for Lasting Change: Level 4 Focusing

LEVEL 4 is called The Center of the Maze. Our goal here is to return to the essence of Focusing and ourselves as living process. What does it really mean when something within us moves forward? We’ll have more support for embodiment practices and noticing how does this inner process transpire outward and change how we experience and live in the world. We’ll gain clarity around these two normal states of being: Presence and Partiality and how they affect our experiencing. What is it to be a healing space for ourselves.

We’ll delve deeper into the principle of the Radical Acceptance of Everything and look at how it applies to distractions, images, sensations outside the middle body, physical symptoms & more. We’ll look closer at the inner criticizing process, it’s reactors and exiles.

Betty Szatkowski, another Focusing trainer who regularly uses TAE to practice Focusing, will lead our 4th class on Thinking at the Edge. We will go around again a bit deeper with the concepts of Stopped Processes by Gendlin and Tangles as taught by Ann Weiser Cornell and Barbara McGavin. We will get a feel for Gendlin’s philosophy by crossing his three types of theories with neuroscience concepts. We’ll glimpse more understanding of our natural divisions of left-right hemispheres and top-bottom brain contributors into our daily experience of life. We’ll play with body movement and shared Presence as offered by Wholebody Focusers. And so much more…

Here are Level 4 general class topics:

Class 1: Focusing as a Way to Grow; Sensitive Empathic Listening goes a Long Way.

Class 2: Presence and Partiality: I AM a Healing Space

Class 3: Inner Criticizing Process and It’s Reactors, Intro to TAE – Thinking at the Edge

Class 4: Thinking at the Edge: Crossing as a Way to Explore Edges

Class 5: Holding it ALL with Stopped Processes and Tangles

Class 6: Focusing Unites Brain and Body; Neuroscience

Class 7: Wholebody Focusing, Exploring Body, Movement, Gestures and Beyond Body, Transforming Trauma, Shared Presence

Class 8: A New Sense of Self in Living Life as Process

We’ll meet approx. every 2 or 3 weeks for 2 hrs a total of 8 times or for about 3-4 months. Our first hour will be checking in and exploring our topics. Our 2nd hr will revolve around a demonstration in class with process appreciations from all those observing. Unlike Levels 1-3, there is no partner practice during class unless you are in the Demo. Class will be limited to 8 participants and designed so that each person will get an opportunity to be Focuser for a class demonstration.

Reading involves completing Ann & Barbara’s Inner Relationship Focusing Student Manual part two. There are also a variety of articles provided and some handouts that I have created. The reading is relatively deep, the type that reveals something new for us from year to year. Other than the Student Manual, it is your choice how much of the reading to complete. Often students repeat this class again a few years later and find they get it all that much more. Focusing encourages us to explore that new edge and there is plenty of new emerging in this field to choose from. Thus, each group that comes together will create a somewhat different experience as we re-ground in a deeper level of trust in ourselves, our current experience and that it’s all going somewhere life-thriving.

LEVEL 4 Partnership Requirement

I ask that participants are Focusing weekly with a partner at least one month before class begins and throughout our time together. This is to ensure you have Focusing time to explore the many concepts we cover in class experientially. If you have a regular Focusing partner, you are welcome to Focus with them throughout this class. If not, I will suggest partners either from this class or our greater community.

Even with all of this practice, we cover so much here, that often people come back and repeat this level. Level 4 is a great place to return to whenever you would like to go deeper with your process from wherever it is.

LEVEL 4 Class Opportunities

Sometimes classes at these levels are organized privately and not posted here. Email me HERE if you would like to be notified of 2021 Level 4 opportunities. I may have space in these classes below.

LEVEL 4 ZOOM WINTER SESSION – 2021 Tuesday Evenings

8 Tuesday evenings via Zoom videoconference
7:30 – 9:30 pm EST, 6:30 – 8:30 pm CST, 5:30 – 7:30 pm MST, 4:30 – 6:30 pm PST

Feb 2, Feb 16, March 2, March 16, March 30, April 13, April 27, May 11

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Monday, January 25

**Note Daylight savings time changes March 14 for me. This class will shift forward 1 hour for the last 5 classes. If you are not on the same time shift, take this into account.

LEVEL 4 ZOOM SPRING-SUMMER SESSION – 2021 TUESDAY EVENINGS

8 Tuesday evenings via Zoom videoconference
7 – 9 pm EDT, 6 – 8 pm CDT, 5 – 7 pm MDT, 4 – 6 pm PDT

April 20, May 4, May 18, June 1, June 15, June 29, July 13, July 27

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Monday, April 5

LEVEL 4 ZOOM SPRING-SUMMER SESSION – 2021 WEDNESDAY MORNINGS

8 Wednesday mornings via Zoom videoconference
11 am – 1 pm EDT, 10 am – 12 pm noon CDT, 9 – 11 am MDT, 8 – 10 am PDT

April 28, May 12, May 26, June 9, June 23, July 7, July 20, Aug 4

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Monday, April 5

LEVEL 4 ZOOM SPRING-SUMMER SESSION – 2021 WEDNESDAY EVENINGS

8 Wednesday evenings via Zoom videoconference
7 – 9 pm EDT, 6 – 8 pm CDT, 5 – 7 pm MDT, 4 – 6 pm PDT

April 28, May 12, May 26, June 9, June 23, July 7, July 20, Aug 4

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Monday, April 5

LEVEL 4 ZOOM FALL SESSION – 2021 SUNDAY AFTERNOONS

8 Sunday afternoons via Zoom videoconference
1 – 3 pm EDT, 12noon – 2 pm CDT, 11am – 1 pm MDT, 10am -12noon PDT

August 15, August 29, Sept 12, Oct 3, Oct 17, Oct 31, Nov 21, Dec 5

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Friday, July 30

**Note Daylight savings time changes November 7 for me. Our time will shift backward 1 hour for the last 2 classes. If you are not on the same time shift, take this into account.

LEVEL 4 ZOOM FALL SESSION – 2021 MONDAY EVENINGS

8 Monday evenings via Zoom videoconference
7 – 9 pm EDT, 6 – 8 pm CDT, 5 – 7 pm MDT, 4 – 6 pm PDT

Aug 30, Sept 13, Sept 27, Oct 11, Oct 25, Nov 8, Nov 22, Dec 6

Prerequisite: Level 3 Focusing
Course fee $240 ($190 if you are repeating this level)

Register By: Friday, August 13

**Note Daylight savings time changes November 7 for me. Our time will shift backward 1 hour for the last 3 classes. If you are not on the same time shift, take this into account.

HOW FOCUSING CLASSES WORK

There will be lectures, demonstrations, question periods, group exercises, and paired exercises. You will be paired to practice a Focusing exercise with another participant each class session. There will also be an additional paired homework exercise between sessions that will take approximately 45 min. Even with local classes, this additional exercise is usually done over the phone.  Please plan to attend all 6 or 8 sessions for the full time of the meeting. Missing one or two classes is acceptable.  If you miss more than two classes, it is often best to repeat the Level.

For the videoconference class, all you need is a computer with a camera. You can also attend via a cellphone. You’ll be able to see everyone in the class, generally, whoever is speaking appears larger at the time. You can mute and turn off your video camera as needed.  Recordings may be available if you miss a class.  Video seminars work amazingly well. Hope to see you here!

Creating Space For Lasting Change: Level 4 Focusing Class

For those repeating or reviewing these skills

240.00 $

Also, if you have already had some similar Focusing training and are interested in reviewing these skills or getting your certificate of Level 4 completion, you are welcome to join this class for $190. Please email me to register before you pay.

Creating Space For Lasting Change: Level 4 Focusing Class

For those repeating or reviewing these skills

190.00 $

*DISCLAIMER

This site does not provide medical or any other health care or fitness advice, diagnosis, or treatment. The site and its services are for informational purposes only and are not a substitute for professional medical or mental health advice, examination, diagnosis, or treatment.